built in 1886, of locally sourced redwood and oak in the grand Queen
Anne style, with splendid turrets, peaked roofs, balconies, and a brick
chimney three stories tall.
This National Treasure landmark is the only Victorian–era residence with
original furnishings open to the public in San Francisco. The repairs
came just in time; parts of the exterior were held together only by old
paint. The careful removal of twenty layers of paint, primer and rust
blooms, restored the exterior to its original color palette.
This architectural and cultural gem welcomes visitors in its new chapter